RDM Discovery not working

Frequently Asked Questions from Customers

Moderators: Anton, Logan, Daniel, Dmitry

Post Reply
FabianHauschild
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:50 pm

RDM Discovery not working

Post by FabianHauschild » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:41 pm

Hello,

I am developing RDM functionallity for one of our DMX Dimmers and using the ProPlex IQ Tester LV for testing.

The RDM Discovery doesn't work with this Tester. But using other Testers everthing works fine so I think there might be a problem
with the RDM function of the IQ Tester.

Are there any known issues with he RDM function?
How can I solve this problem?

IQ Tester SW-Version: 0.6.3
Connection: 5-Pin DMX Connector

Thanks for your help
Best regards,
Fabian

Rihards
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:06 am

Re: RDM Discovery not working

Post by Rihards » Tue Jun 11, 2019 2:51 am

Hello

Right now the only known problem with RDM is ACK_TIMER replies not being processed correctly.

Was there only one or more than one RDM responder connected to the IQTester when trying to discover the dimmer?

There was a problem with RDM discovery in version 0.5 related to RDM discovery branches being even or odd numbers for specific RDM responders, but that should have been fixed in version 0.5.2.
IQ Tester

FabianHauschild
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: RDM Discovery not working

Post by FabianHauschild » Tue Jun 11, 2019 5:30 am

Hello,

Thanks for the quick answer.

There was only one responder connected to the IQ Tester.

Rihards
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:06 am

Re: RDM Discovery not working

Post by Rihards » Tue Jun 11, 2019 10:32 am

The IQTester not being able to discover a single connected responder is something new.

Does the responder reply to the discovery packets that are sent from the tester?

If so, does the device count number in the IQTesters [RDM Device List] window go up to 1 or does it stay at "0"/"-"
(Press the middle button to force discovery while in [RDM Device List])
IQ Tester

FabianHauschild
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: RDM Discovery not working

Post by FabianHauschild » Wed Jun 12, 2019 2:41 am

The Responder replies to the discovery packets.

But the device count number stays "0" and no device is shown in the [RDM Device List]

Rihards
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:06 am

Re: RDM Discovery not working

Post by Rihards » Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:14 am

Does the Responder reply within 5.9ms of the discovery packet being sent out from the IQTester?

The discovery reply timeout is currently set to 5.9ms
IQ Tester

FabianHauschild
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: RDM Discovery not working

Post by FabianHauschild » Wed Jun 12, 2019 4:27 am

Yes

It replies within 12µs

Rihards
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:06 am

Re: RDM Discovery not working

Post by Rihards » Wed Jun 12, 2019 6:27 am

Is it possible to set the reply time higher?

The minimum Discovery -> Discovery Response time is defined as 176µs
Ref: [ANSI E1.20 2010 RDM Spec. Table 3-2]

The IQTester should be able to receive replies instantly after sending the Discovery packet, but there might be a hardware timing limitation or a firmware bug that would cause the IQTester to ignore the reply
IQ Tester

FabianHauschild
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2019 10:50 pm

Re: RDM Discovery not working

Post by FabianHauschild » Wed Jun 12, 2019 11:56 pm

I delayed the reply to arround 200µs and now its working.

Thanks for your help.

Rihards
Posts: 22
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:06 am

Re: RDM Discovery not working

Post by Rihards » Thu Jun 13, 2019 12:23 am

Thank you for reporting this

The IQTester will be able to notify the user about RDM and DMX timing errors in a later firmware version (v0.9 or v1.0)
IQ Tester

Post Reply