IQ Tester to simulate RDM Responder

Moderators: Anton, Logan, Daniel, Dmitry

Post Reply
Logan
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:54 pm

IQ Tester to simulate RDM Responder

Post by Logan » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:28 am

While the IQ Tester currently is able to Read connected RDM compatible devices, we are considering programming a function to allow the IQ Tester to act as a responder to RDM

Our idea would be that the IQ Tester could emulate a specific PID through RDM and see if a controller responds accordingly

In other words, the IQ Tester would be acting as a "RDM Simulator" and would act as a "fake fixture" for testing

This would be ideal for beta testing new controllers, and possibly for QC of rental inventory before it heads to a show

We wouldn't be able to release this feature until after our finalized version 1 update (currently 0.6.2 at the time of writing)

Please let us know if you are interested!

clublights
Posts: 17
Joined: Sat Mar 02, 2019 2:54 pm

Re: IQ Tester to simulate RDM Responder

Post by clublights » Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:50 pm

If this question comes about from a Facebook post ...... I’m the one that made the post so YES I’d love this to be an added feature ,

Logan
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:54 pm

Re: IQ Tester to simulate RDM Responder

Post by Logan » Thu Mar 14, 2019 12:58 pm

Yes, I do believe you were inspiring this conversation!

Thanks for your feedback and support

Post Reply