Doesn't read Art-Net in the latest build?

Frequently Asked Questions from Customers

Moderators: Anton, Logan, Daniel, Dmitry

Post Reply
JBrink
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 7:10 pm

Doesn't read Art-Net in the latest build?

Post by JBrink » Fri Aug 06, 2021 6:06 am

Running 1.1.7r - and I can't seem to read Art-Net coming from my Nomad console. Checkout the video. I thought it was an ETC problem because I was sure it couldn't be the tester but I downloaded artnetnominator and it's showing it's getting Art-Net but it's not appearing on the IQ Tester. Furthermore, when I plug in the DMX input line I don't see "DMX" light up in green in the top left. Wasn't that the way it was before or was this never a feature. If so this would be great to add so we can see if live DMX is coming in once plugged in.

https://youtu.be/9LNTPOub_Bg

Logan
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:54 pm

Re: Doesn't read Art-Net in the latest build?

Post by Logan » Mon Aug 09, 2021 5:35 am

Hello!

We are getting our hands on Nomad this week to figure out the issue

Thank you for your patience.

Logan
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:54 pm

Re: Doesn't read Art-Net in the latest build?

Post by Logan » Thu Aug 19, 2021 7:23 am

Hello!

IQ Tester will see Art-Net in 3 scenarios: Directed broadcast (broadcast in subnet), Limited Broadcast (broadcast to 255.255.255.255), and unicast to IQ tester's IP.

In your video, it appears the device IP address is 10.101.100.105 and subnet mask is 255.255.0.0 with Direct Broadcast selected for Art-Net. That results in a directed broadcast to that particular subnet, IP 10.101.255.255 (the last two octets)

In order to see these packets, you can change the IQ Tester IP address to 10.101.xxx.xxx and subnet mask 255.255.0.0.

Let us know if that helps.

JBrink
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2021 7:10 pm

Re: Doesn't read Art-Net in the latest build?

Post by JBrink » Wed Sep 15, 2021 6:53 am

Sorry missed the notification on this reply.

Thank you! I guess I wasn't in the correct subnet/IP range!

Follow up - why can I see sACN then?

Rihards
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:06 am

Re: Doesn't read Art-Net in the latest build?

Post by Rihards » Wed Sep 15, 2021 4:21 pm

sACN is sent through multicast IP addresses. The subnet mask is not used for multicast.
IQ Tester

Post Reply