RDM - Devices Offline

Frequently Asked Questions from Customers

Moderators: Anton, Logan, Daniel, Dmitry

Post Reply
Tepperse
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:44 pm

RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Tepperse » Fri Jan 15, 2021 5:53 am

Hey all,

I've been using the LV tester frequently on a jobsite with a large amount of physically hidden RDM devices.

When connecting the tester to the line, the devices appear as good, but when I enter the details, they appear as offline, and are consistently polled without becoming steady or editable.

A Goddard miniDMXter4 is able to see and configure these devices without issue.

The devices in question are QTran 4ch. LED drivers, reportedly running RDM v1.0

The LV tester works flawlessly with other RDM devices such as ETC Foundry products.

Picture attached and link to video below.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/mvvpxoj45ijcp ... 3.MOV?dl=0

Thanks!
-Sam

Rihards
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:06 am

Re: RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Rihards » Mon Jan 18, 2021 1:53 pm

This could be happening because the QTran LED driver might not support some RDM PIDs required to create a device profile/cache file.

Any discovered RDM devices are marked as offline if they do not properly reply to PIDs required to create the cache file - that might be why the devices keep getting offlined.

I can try to see what PIDs are causing this problem if I can look into the RDM device cache files.
RDM cache files are located in the RDM folder (when IQTester is connected to a computer and USB SD Card mode is enabled from the menu)
RDM cache files end with a ".rdi_c1" extension ["/RDM/4E41123489ABCDEF.rdi_c1"]
These files and the RDM folder are hidden, so you might need to enable a [Show Hidden Files and Folders] option in your file browser.

It would be very helpful if you could upload and reply with a link to the cache files.
(before opening the IQTester as a USB device, make sure you keep the RDM window open with the QTran devices connected for at least 10 seconds)

Thank you for reporting this.
IQ Tester

Tepperse
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:44 pm

Re: RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Tepperse » Wed Jan 20, 2021 5:08 am

Hey all,

I updated to v1.1.0 and still no change. Devices appear as "offline" including some ETC devices that were working in the previous firmware version. I used a DMXCat on the same line which was able to read these devices without issue.

The link to the cache is: https://www.dropbox.com/s/wr4ld836d7w8f ... di_1c?dl=0

Thanks!
-Tepperse

Rihards
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:06 am

Re: RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Rihards » Thu Jan 21, 2021 2:00 am

We have found the issue that was causing the devices to constantly go offline. A bugfix version should be released this or next week.
IQ Tester

Tepperse
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:44 pm

Re: RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Tepperse » Thu Jan 21, 2021 4:10 am

Thanks!

The quick responses were much appreciated. Please let me know if I can provide you with any more information.

-Tepperse

Tepperse
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:44 pm

Re: RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Tepperse » Tue Jan 26, 2021 1:42 pm

Rihards wrote:
Thu Jan 21, 2021 2:00 am
We have found the issue that was causing the devices to constantly go offline. A bugfix version should be released this or next week.
Hey all, updated to 1.1.2r today and gave it a test run.

The update fixed the issue of the devices (QTran drivers) falling offline, but I'm still unable to edit them.

It displays a "Label: Bad Request" and will not let me see or edit any of the attributes.
IMG_7991.jpg
IMG_7991.jpg (28.11 KiB) Viewed 3919 times
This release did fix the issue of one "bad" device preventing my from seeing other devices on the same line. However the name of the "good" devices do not appear until I select them individually.
IMG_7992.jpg
IMG_7992.jpg (29.19 KiB) Viewed 3919 times
IMG_7990.jpg
IMG_7990.jpg (33 KiB) Viewed 3919 times
I've added a link to the cache below.:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/0qsjwahdjqvtq ... di_2c?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/yvrox93nh6273 ... di_2c?dl=0


Thanks!
-Tepperse

Logan
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:54 pm

Re: RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Logan » Fri Jan 29, 2021 10:30 am

We will look into this further.

Does clearing the RDM Cache has any effect on behavior?

Tepperse
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:44 pm

Re: RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Tepperse » Fri Jan 29, 2021 12:19 pm

Logan wrote:
Fri Jan 29, 2021 10:30 am
We will look into this further.

Does clearing the RDM Cache has any effect on behavior?
Clearing the RDM cache did not have any effect.

Rihards
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2019 2:06 am

Re: RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Rihards » Fri Feb 05, 2021 7:57 am

Found another bug that would cause the IQTester to not be able to read or set parameters after a bad request label response. A fix will be included in the next firmware bugfix release.
IQ Tester

Tepperse
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 18, 2020 12:44 pm

Re: RDM - Devices Offline

Post by Tepperse » Wed Feb 24, 2021 9:03 pm

v1.1.4 has fixed all of the issues in this thread.

Thanks!

Post Reply